Saturday, May 24, 2008

Georgia Receives Presidential Disaster Declaration for 14 Counties Damaged By Mother’s Day Tornadoes

Governor Sonny Perdue announced that President George W. Bush approved a Federal Disaster Declaration today for the 14 counties that Governor Perdue requested aid for following the tornadoes and severe thunderstorms that hit Georgia on May 11-12.

“I am grateful to President Bush and FEMA Director Paulison for their quick action in offering assistance,” said Governor Sonny Perdue. “This Federal Disaster Declaration will broaden our capability to recover from these devastating storms.”

This means that individual assistance is now available to disaster victims in 10 counties: Bibb, Carroll, Douglas, Emanuel, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson, Laurens, McIntosh, and Twiggs.
The President has also designated that Bibb, Carroll, Crawford, Emanuel, Glynn, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson, Laurens, McIntosh, Treutlen, Twiggs and Wilkinson counties will all be able to receive federal funds to help offset 75 percent the cost of the initial emergency response, debris removal and restoration of damaged public facilities.

For the counties receiving individual assistance, aid can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration also will be available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

Governor Perdue made the request May 16 for a federal declaration after touring the areas and reviewing preliminary damage assessment figures.

Residents and business owners in Bibb, Carroll, Douglas, Emanuel, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson, Laurens, McIntosh, and Twiggs counties who sustained losses can begin applying for assistance by registering online at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. (local time) Monday through Sunday.

GEMA is the lead state agency for coordination of emergency and disaster response activities. For more emergency information and updates, visit

No comments: